‘Less is more’ make up update

As promised, today’s post is an update on my ‘less is more’ test make up part. Original post is here. I picked 4 non-comedogenic / mildly comedogenic products to use on my skin (in addition to 4 skincare products) to see if I can prevent blemishes that way as I felt  I was using everything and anything on my skin and it was getting very confused.

I wrote a post about my progress with the skincare products yesterday and told you that I added some and also started using benzoyl peroxide a bit more frequently again which has dried out my skin and made it a little red. So what happened with the original 4 make up products?

Vichy Dermablend Corrective Foundation with SPF35 is still being used as a concealer and is great for covering that redness because of yellow undertones.

Clinique Anti Blemish BB Cream SPF40 started catching on dry patches and just doesn’t sit right on my skin anymore. It is great for oily skin with some signs of dehydration to cover blemishes but moisturise at the same time, however like any liquid foundation it will catch on dry patches so it had to be stored away in my make up drawer for now. I replaced it with what I knew would work (this is the only foundation I could use when I was using benzoyl peroxide previously) and it is no other than bareMinerals MATTE SPF15 foundation in fair. As this foundation is loose powder I no longer need setting powder so Make Up Forever HD Powder is in the drawer with Clinique BB cream as well (it only comes out then I want a bit of ‘highlighter effect’ as I don’t get on with pencil / cream highlighters and this powder seems to do the job). bareMinerals MATTE foundations is clear of comedogenic ingredients and is probably the best and safest foundation for acne prone skin.

Balance Me Balancing Face Moisturiser which I was using as primer also got replaced because I find that the only primer that works with bareMinerals MATTE foundation is bareMinerals Prime Time Foundation Primer (Original). This sort of proves my theory that primer has to often be from the same brand as foundation as they were probably developed to work together.

NYX Studio Perfect Primer in Green is another primer I use to cover the redness as green shade reduces the appearance of red tones. It is also non-comodegenic and slides on like silk even over dry patches.

12899951_10209684629299457_821678311_n
bareMinerals MATTE SPF15 foundation; NYX Photo Loving Primer in Green; bareMinerals Prime Time foundation primer ORIGINAL (travel size); Make Up For Ever HD Powder (travel size); Vichy Dermablend Corrective Foundation

I will update you again next weekend but promise I won’t bore you with my acne journey anymore after that. I do however hope some of you find these posts useful.

Love,

Mari xx

 

One thought on “‘Less is more’ make up update

Leave a comment